top of page

Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service – Excellence Awards – Congratulations!

On Friday 11 March 2022, Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service (LFRS) hosted an awards night to highlight and celebrate examples of excellence from across the Service.

Attendees joined together to celebrate the successes of their colleagues at the King Power Stadium, as 120 nominations were narrowed down to 12 winners over 11 categories.

Chief Fire and Rescue Officer, Callum Faint said: “The awards evening was an important opportunity to recognise the amazing work carried out every day by individuals and teams across the Service.

“We received 120 nominations this year, all of which were of a high quality. I was extremely proud to read about the difference our staff have made for the benefit of our communities across Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of those nominated for their excellent work and clear commitment to demonstrating our values of professional, positive and honest.

“Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and indeed to those who won – you are all a credit to the Service.”

The winners for the evening were:

  • Team of the Year Award – Eastern Fire Station

  • Excellence in Innovation Award – Jon Summers (Crew Manager, Wigston Fire Station)

  • Community Champion Award – Harshad Saujani (Community Safety Educator)

  • Outstanding Personal Achievement Award – Ange Hickenbotham (Crew Manager, Fire Control)

  • Employees’ Choice Award – Deborah Fairclough (Receptionist, Service Information Team) and Kashmir Nijjar (Kash) (Cleaner, Service Headquarters)

  • Unsung Hero of the Year Award – Luke Mallard (Firefighter, Wigston On-Call)

  • Outstanding Contribution to the Service Award – Raj Dard (Firefighter, Birstall Fire Station)

  • Excellence in Valuing Diversity & Inclusion Award – Craig Hallam (Watch Manager, Western Fire Station)

  • Operational Excellence Award – Phil Woodman (Watch Manager, Central Fire Station/Ashby Fire Station)

  • Inspiring Resilience Award – Rachel Canfield (Service Information Team Administrator)

  • Excellence in Leadership Award – Mark Edwards (Senior Instructor, Learning and Development)

Callum added: “On behalf of Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service, I would like to give a special mention and thank you to all of our sponsors for making this evening possible.”

Sponsors for the evening were:

  • Emergency One

  • Motorola Solutions

  • MSA – The Safety Company

  • Reality in Virtual Reality (RiVR)


 Add this site to your Home Screen

bottom of page