top of page

Cast your votes on next Green Plaque recipient

Shortlist of 12 people and places in line for recognition.

Boxer Jack Gardner, recent recipient of a Green Plaque

Members of the public are being asked to cast their votes to decide on the people and places which will be the next to be honoured with a Green Plaque.

A total of 32 nominations were received from around the county, after a call went out for people to nominate individuals and places important to Leicestershire’s past that they feel should be honoured in the sixth round of Leicestershire County Council’s awards scheme.

The nominations have been narrowed down to a shortlist of 12 by a panel of judges – and now it’s up to the public to vote for the top six to receive a plaque. Voting is now open and will close just before midnight on Sunday 24 October.

The nominees are:

  • Lt Col Eric Bent VC DSO, attended school in Ashby-de-la-Zouch. He was awarded the Victoria Cross during the First World War;

  • Sgt Herbert Ernest Black RAFVR, Second World War bomber pilot from Measham;

  • Samuel Swinfen Burdett, philanthropist and member of US Congress from Broughton Astley;

  • Frances Elizabeth Deacon from Fleckney. She was the first woman to pass the qualifying exam to become a pharmacist;

  • George Fox from Fenny Drayton who founded the Quaker Movement;

  • William Lilly, astrologer and author who was born in Diseworth;

  • Regt Sgt Major Thomas Meredith DCM from Wigston Magna. He was a member of the Royal Leicestershire Regiment and WWII prisoner of war;

  • Military Stables at the Defence Animal Training Unit, Melton;

  • The Pound, an historic site in Countesthorpe where stray animals were kept;

  • William Railton, architect who designed Nelson’s Column and many Leicestershire landmarks including Beaumanor Hall in Woodhouse;

  • Theodora Salusbury, Arts & Crafts stained glass artist who designed stained glass windows in churches across Leicestershire;

  • Count Louis Zborowski, racing driver and engineer who lived for a time in Melton Mowbray.

"This is the sixth round of Green Plaque awards, and they always get a fantastic response from the public, who have the opportunity to pay tribute to people and places who have made a mark on the history of their communities.

We received 32 nominations this time around, and the shortlisting panel had a very difficult job to narrow them down to 12.

We’re now asking the people of Leicestershire to have their say by voting for their favourites – you can vote for up to six. The six who get the most votes will be honoured with a Green Plaque. I would encourage as many people as possible to take part in the voting to decide which historic people and places should be honoured."

Councillor Dan Harrison, county council chairman

To find out more information about the nominees and to vote, visit

A postal voting form is also available for anyone without internet access by

calling 0116 305 4112.


 Add this site to your Home Screen

bottom of page